I only need Juan reason to listen to music in class…

There’s been an over-abundance of ESL posts on this blog, I know. I’ll get back to German, Latin, etc. soon enough, I promise. I’ve been building a curriculum from scratch for this ESL job I just took, so lately my mind has been concerned with little else.

Today’s post deals with GRAMMAR and LISTENING COMPREHENSION in one fell swoop! We’re covering “to be” in class this week – a new concept for some students and a much needed review for others. After going over the basics, I decided to make it a little fun by letting them listen to some of their favorite songs. Including one by, you guessed it, One Direction.

I whipped up a quick worksheet featuring some lyrics from popular songs, leaving blanks in the place of forms of “to be” and the contractions that go with it. We’d listen to the song, and then rewind to the appropriate section so they’d have a second and third chance to listen for the correct form.

The kids enjoyed it a lot, and were actually quite successful in filling in the blanks. Fun was had by all. (Except for the kid who tried to steal my speaker. Fun was had by most, suspensions were had by some.)

Grab the worksheet after the jump:

Worksheet: To be – song lyrics (PDF)

Playlist:

  1. “We are Young” – Fun.
  2. “Diamonds” – Rihanna
  3. “Edge of Glory” – Lady Gaga
  4. “Skyfall” – Adele
  5. “What Makes You Beautiful” – One Direction.

The kids also made a lot of requests for “next time.” Think I could get away with playing Wiz Khalifa in class?

Leave a Reply

